METANANO 2019

15.07.2019
09:00
Begin
15.07.2019
09:00
International

METANANO-2019, the fourth conference on nanophotonics and metamaterials, will take place on July 15-19, 2019 in St. Petersburg. Scientists from MIT, ParisTech, and other major scientific centers of the world will discuss the latest advances in science. Each year, the METANANO conference grows in popularity thanks to its expansive range of subjects and a discussion program that’s updated every year in accordance with the latest trends. METANANO-2019 will include symposiums, special sessions, and lectures by renowned scientists.

METANANO 2018
METANANO 2018 в Сочи

 

METANANO: history, geography, participants

The METANANO conference is organized every year by the staff of ITMO University’s Faculty of Physics and Engineering. The first conference took place in 2016 in Anapa and brought together some 90 scientists. Back then, 90% of the event’s participants represented various Russian universities and research centers. During the second conference, set in Vladivostok, the number of international guests made up 40% of the total audience of 250 participants. The third conference took place in Sochi and brought together more than 300 researchers in the field of nanophotonics and metamaterials from the top laboratories and research centers of the UK, Germany, Sweden, France, the USA, Australia, China, Russia, and other countries. The fourth Metanano is expected to welcome over 350 guests with a 50-50 ratio of Russian to international participants.

“The idea is that the conference travels from city to city, like many major global conferences do, and never comes to the same place twice. This year, we decided to host the conference in St. Petersburg, as we’re celebrating the anniversary of ITMO University’s Center of Nanophotonics and Metamaterials. Ten years ago, a small group of enthusiasts had founded the laboratory that has grown into a new Faculty and a major research center. We would like to celebrate this occasion with our colleagues from around the world,” comments Pavel Belov, the general chair of METANANO-2019.

METANANO-2019: top scientists, symposiums, and new sessions

The conference’s program traditionally includes plenary sessions during which world-class scientists deliver reports on their research in the field of nanophotonics and metamaterials. This year, some of these reports will be intended not only for experts in specialized fields but for all guests of the conference. For instance, during the broad theme plenary session Kamil Ugurbil, a professor at the University of Minnesota (USA), will speak about the study of the human connectome (neural brain map) using advanced methods of neurovisualization.

This year the conference will welcome even more trendsetting scientists: professor Martin Wegener of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology will deliver a report on chirality in optical and mechanical metamaterials; professor Masaya Notomi of NTT Nanophotonics Center and the Tokyo Institute of Technology will share insights into the value of applied science, and namely the novel functionalities arising from integrated nanophotonics; professor Marin Soljačić of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology will speak about deep learning in photonics; and Philippe Lalanne of the Institut D'optique, ParisTech will report on the interaction of light with nanoresonators. Among the event’s key speakers is also Oliver Graydon, the chief editor of the Nature Photonics journal, who will offer an inside look at the process of publishing scientific articles. Overall, nine world-famous scientists and specialists will be speakers at the plenary sessions; six will take part in the general plenary session and three in the broad theme plenary session, dedicated to topics in the area of popular science.

In addition to the plenary speakers, the conference will welcome some twenty keynote speakers. A full list of the speakers at METANANO-2019 can be found on the official website.

Full text is available via ITMO.NEWS

METANANO 2019

15.07.2019
09:00
Начало
15.07.2019
09:00
Международное

Четвертая конференция по нанофотонике и метаматериалам МЕТАНАНО-2019 пройдет с 15 по 19 июля в Санкт-Петербурге. О последних достижениях в науке расскажут ученые из MIT, ParisTECH и других ведущих научных центров мира. С каждым годом популярность конференции МЕТАНАНО растет благодаря тому, что ее программа покрывает широкий спектр научных областей, а форматы дискуссий ежегодно трансформируются в соответствии с современными реалиями. Так, в рамках МЕТАНАНО-2019 пройдут симпозиумы, новые секции и научно-популярные лекции от ученых с мировым именем.

METANANO 2018
METANANO 2018 в Сочи

 

МЕТАНАНО: география, развитие, участники

Ежегодно МЕТАНАНО организуют сотрудники физико-технического факультета Университета ИТМО. Первая конференция состоялась в Анапе в 2016 году и собрала около 90 ученых. Тогда 90 % участников представляли российские университеты и исследовательские центры. Во время второй конференции, которая прошла во Владивостоке, количество иностранных представителей выросло до 40 % от общего числа участников, которых было 250. Третья конференция состоялась в Сочи на базе образовательного центра «Сириус» и объединила более 300 исследователей в области нанофотоники и метаматериалов из ведущих лабораторий и научных центров Англии, Германии, Швеции, Франции, США, Австралии, Китая, России и других стран. Ожидается, что четвертую конференцию МЕТАНАНО посетят более 350 человек, а соотношение иностранных и отечественных представителей составит 50 на 50.

«Конференция МЕТАНАНО проводится в разных городах России. Идея конференции в том, что она путешествует из города в город, как большие зарубежные конференции, и никогда не повторяется в тех местах, где уже проходила. В этом году мы приняли решение провести конференцию в Санкт-Петербурге, так как Центр нанофотоники и метаматериалов Университета ИТМО празднует своеобразный юбилей. Десять лет назад небольшая группа инициативных специалистов создала лабораторию, которая к сегодняшнему дню выросла в новый физико-технический факультет и большой Центр нанофотоники и метаматериалов. Мы хотим с нашими коллегами, в том числе зарубежными, отпраздновать эту трансформацию», – прокомментировал генеральный председатель МЕТАНАНО-2019 Павел Белов.

МЕТАНАНО 2019: лучшие ученые мира, симпозиумы и новые секции

Традиционно конференция МЕТАНАНО включает пленарные заседания, в рамках которых с академическими докладами выступают ученые с мировыми именами в области нанофотоники и метаматериалов. В этом году некоторые доклады звезд от науки будут ориентированы не на узких специалистов, а на всех участников. Так, в научно-популярном контексте на пленарном заседании и в рамках одного из симпозиумов выступит один из ключевых докладчиков конференции – профессор Университета Миннесоты (США) Камиль Угурбиль. Ученый расскажет про возможность исследования человеческого коннектома с использованием передовых методов нейровизуализаци.

В этом году на конференцию приедет еще больше ученых, которые задают тон в научном сообществе. На пленарной секции выступит Мартин Вегенер (Martin Wegener), профессор Технологического института Карлсруэ (Германия) с докладом о хиральности в оптических и механических метаматериалах. Профессор Масая Нотоми из Центра нанофотоники NNT и Токийского технологического института (Япония) поделится информацией о прикладном значении науки, в частности, о новых функциональных возможностях, вытекающих из интегрированной нанофотоники. Профессор Марин Солячич из Массачусетского технологического института (MIT, США) расскажет об использовании нейронных сетей в фотонике. Филипп Лаланн, профессор Института оптики Парижского технологического института выступит с докладом о взаимодействии света с нанорезонаторами. Также одним из ключевых докладчиков станет главный редактор журнала Nature Photonics Оливер Грейдон, который расскажет про взгляд на публикацию научных статей с позиции сотрудника научного журнала. Всего докладчиками на пленарных сессиях станут девять всемирно известных ученых и специалистов. Шестеро из них выступят в рамках общего научного заседания, трое выступят с научно-популярными докладами. 

Помимо докладчиков пленарных сессий, конференцию посетят порядка двадцати ключевых спикеров – лидеров в своих областях, подробнее о которых можно узнать на сайте конференции.

Полный текст читайте на ITMO.NEWS